With an area of 283,561 square km (109,484 sq. mi), Ecuador is approximately the same size as the UK and just a little smaller than the state of Arizona in the USA. It is bordered to the north by Colombia and Peru to the south and east, and the Pacific Ocean on the west. It also includes the Galapagos Islands which lie in the Pacific Ocean around 1000 km (620 miles) west of the mainland.

Did you know?

  • Ecuador is one of 17 megadiverse countries in the world and is home to the highest levels of biodiversity (ie plant and animal species) per square kilometre of any country on earth.
  • Ecuador is named after the equator which runs through the country and is the only country in the world to be named after a geological feature.
  • Ecuador is home to the highest active volcano in the world, Cotopaxi, at 5890 meters

Ecuador Quick Facts

Capital City:


Largest City:



16,34 million (*2016 estimate)


Unitary presidential constitutional republic

Highest mountain:

Chimborazo at 6,268


5 hours behind GMT

Official Language:

Spanish, Quechua, Shuar other indigenous languages



Land Area‎:

276,841 km2

Total Area‎:

283,561 km2

Water Area‎:

6,720 km2



Current time in Ecuador: